Buy the Book ($29.95 +$4.75 shipping) Payments go into our "CrazyLegs" Paypal account

The Book

Canvas for Cruisers is a fully comprehensive and detailed book on sewing canvas for boats.
Are you frustrated because those other books just don’t give you the details on materials and construction?
This is the book for you!

Learn the techniques the professionals use to produce quality products – strong, practical and beautiful.

Canvas for Cruisers walks you through the fitting and fabrication of every interior and exterior project you are ever likely to need. And how to make quality repairs to keep your boat looking great.

The only Canvas Book you will ever need..

The Author

Julie Gifford retired in 1999 at the age of 42 and went sailing! She and her husband Ed Kettyle jumped on their 44′ sailboat Free Radical and spent the next 7 years sailing – completing a circumnavigation of the planet in 2006. After her circumnavigation Julie worked for a period of time at the North sail loft in St Martin in the eastern Caribbean. Her professional training at the sail loft combined with her personal experience living full time on a boat and a lifelong love of sewing, have inspired her to write this very thorough and practical book.

Contact Us

Book Reviews

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 18 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

What a Book

Rated 5 out of 5
February 12, 2020

Omg, loved the speed of delivery. As a sailing girl who loves sewing I would recommend this book, it’s the bible of sewing for boats.. will be putting this on our boat website..

Debbie walker

Great product with SO MANY other ideas

Rated 5 out of 5
September 19, 2019

I have a couple other books for canvas work and even found a third at the library to compare with this book. So far this book has it most or close to the same project and/or project ideas. It has good instruction, good pictures and really a must have if your going to be doing these types of projects. I sold my other canvas books and kept this one as my go to.

harley gal

Wonderfull Book

Rated 5 out of 5
March 9, 2019

Hi Julie,
Mayhem over, and I just wanted to report the book is wonderful, and at least 2 of my sewing buddies in the Marina have ordered your book. Amazon prime will deliver by Monday as they leave in less than 2 weeks.
Thanks again for all your help and excellent service – now I need to get sewing!

Kim

The book is fabulous - better than my other sewing book thanks to a friend ...

Rated 5 out of 5
May 21, 2018

The book is fabulous – better than my other sewing book thanks to a friend who told me about it – thankyou

helen michel

Best diagrams and explanations

Rated 5 out of 5
March 2, 2017

Hi Julie
The good news is your book finally arrived today WOW
It has the best diagrams and explanations of any book of its type on the market
Well done

Allan

What a Book

Rated 5 out of 5
February 12, 2020

Omg, loved the speed of delivery. As a sailing girl who loves sewing I would recommend this book, it’s the bible of sewing for boats.. will be putting this on our boat website..

Debbie walker

Great product with SO MANY other ideas

Rated 5 out of 5
September 19, 2019

I have a couple other books for canvas work and even found a third at the library to compare with this book. So far this book has it most or close to the same project and/or project ideas. It has good instruction, good pictures and really a must have if your going to be doing these types of projects. I sold my other canvas books and kept this one as my go to.

harley gal

Wonderfull Book

Rated 5 out of 5
March 9, 2019

Hi Julie,
Mayhem over, and I just wanted to report the book is wonderful, and at least 2 of my sewing buddies in the Marina have ordered your book. Amazon prime will deliver by Monday as they leave in less than 2 weeks.
Thanks again for all your help and excellent service – now I need to get sewing!

Kim

The book is fabulous - better than my other sewing book thanks to a friend ...

Rated 5 out of 5
May 21, 2018

The book is fabulous – better than my other sewing book thanks to a friend who told me about it – thankyou

helen michel

Best diagrams and explanations

Rated 5 out of 5
March 2, 2017

Hi Julie
The good news is your book finally arrived today WOW
It has the best diagrams and explanations of any book of its type on the market
Well done

Allan

Write a Review